York Modern Books Out-of-Print, First editions
      Home - Back
Search :  
 July 20, 2024   
About York Modern Books  button
New Books button
Featured Books button
All Books
Advanced Search button
Rare Books Wanted button
Links button
Contact YMB - specialist online shop button

ID: 986
Vaughan Williams and the Symphony.
PIKE, Lionel

Category: Music

London, Toccata Press. 2003..


First edition; 8vo; original cloth boards and dust jacket. Vaughan Williams' nine symphonies are among the finest pieces of music written in the 20th century; they are certainly among the greatest works by any British composer. Vaughan Williams has been consistently denied his rightful place in twentieth-century music and in the history of the symphony. Pike in his investigation demonstrates that at least five of the symphonies can stand comparison with the best. Fine in fine dust jacket.

Price £47.50

Enquire about this item

Back button

Receive our Email Catalogues

About York Modern Books


New Rare Book Arrivals


First Editions & Featured Books

Rare Books Wanted


Advanced Search




Contact York Modern Books

Terms & Conditions


Privacy Policy

© York Modern Books 2024