York Modern Books Out-of-Print, First editions
      Home - Back
Search :  
 July 5, 2022   
About York Modern Books  button
New Books button
Featured Books button
All Books
Advanced Search button
Rare Books Wanted button
Links button
Contact YMB - specialist online shop button

Welcome to the specialist online shop, York

We are a specialist online bookshop dealing in rare books in the following areas:

- Modern First Editions
Fine Illustrated  Books and Private Press
Twentieth Century British Art
Twentieth Century European History
- Twentieth Century Ephemera

antiquarian bookseller
PBFA member

If you wish to purchase or enquire about any item please contact us by e-mail or telephone.


In the meantime please take a look at the rare Suffragette items I have recently bought - I am particularly pleased with the fragile Holloway Jingles - inscribed by one of the inmates.



Philip Barraclough



Axis a Quarterly Review of Contemporary

Axis a Quarterly Review of Contemporary "Abstract" Paintings & Sculpture.

EVANS, Myfanwy [editor]

Eight volumes; original illustrated paper covers; 4to; complete with 5 coloured plates and numerous illustrations throughout. Axis was a magazine devoted to contemporary art, published and edited by Myfanwy Evans assisted by her husband John Piper. In the first issue (January 1935) Axis was described as 'a quarterly review of contemporary abstract painting and sculpture', but the quarterly intervals became almost half-yearly; the last issue (the 8th) appeared in winter 1937. Evans was encouraged by the French abstract painter Jean Hélion and it was originally intended that Axis should parallel the concerns of the Paris-based Abstraction-Création group. In later issues, however, the commitment to abstraction was abandoned in favour of a Neo-Romantic nostalgia for the English landscape tradition. The list of contributors included Paul Nash and Herbert Read. Although short-lived, the magazine was influential in introducing knowledge of contemporary European trends to Britain. A lovely complete set, with minor spotting and rubbing to some covers. Housed in a custom made folding box.

Ravilious at War. The complete work of Eric Ravilious, September 1939-September 1942.

Ravilious at War. The complete work of Eric Ravilious, September 1939-September 1942.


Edited by Anne Ullmann, forward by Brian Sewell. Limited Edition of 750 (of which 650 were for sale), oblong 4to; original cloth boards and slipcase; 196 illustrations. Anne Ullmann is the daughter of Eric Ravilious and she includes in the text 280 letters from her father, virtually none of which had been previously published. The book gives a complete picture of his war time work. Fine.

About York Modern Books


New Rare Book Arrivals


First Editions & Featured Books

Rare Books Wanted


Advanced Search




Contact York Modern Books

Terms & Conditions


Privacy Policy

© York Modern Books 2022